Agna Chakra - The Third Eye

Inside the body are the seven powerful chakras waiting to be awakened and balance, which, when correctly used, can aid you to reach your full potential. The sixth chakra is the third eye which has something to do with your ability to focus and see beyond the picture.

Opening third-eye chakra will make it easier for anyone to enjoy the present moment rather than dwelling back from the past or overthinking about the future. This is because the third-eye chakra is linked to your intuition, psychic abilities, higher awareness, and more.

In this guide, let’s talk about the significance of the third-eye or agna chakra, learn the definitive ways on how to heal, bring back the balance and stimulate it.

Agna Chakra: How to Open Your Third-Eye

The agna chakra, better known as the third-eye, ranks as the sixth chakra in the subtle body. Although not visible, this chakra is an essential element in controlling your “life force,” which circulates around the body.

Agna is a Sanskrit word that means “to perceive” or “to command.” The third-eye is found in the center of the eyebrows. Intuition is the primary function of this chakra. It is suitable for treating health conditions related to perception.

When the third-eye chakra is balanced, you can see things without any shade of ego. On the other hand, when the third-eye chakra is imbalanced, dizziness, anxiety, migraines, and issues with vision and hearing may arise.

Chakras may become off-balance when they are blocked, leading a person to feel like the areas affected by that chakra won’t function well. The chakra energy system is an ancient spiritual belief and tradition. Therefore, it is not based on scientific research to substantiate it.

Meditation and yoga practice are among the activities that can clear the blockages in the chakra/s. There are various ways to restore, balance, and master the use of third-eye.

Find out: Do yoga wheels help back pain?  Are yoga socks needed and are they any good?!

Yogic Poses for the Third-Eye

Yogic poses that focus on the forehead are best for your third-eye chakra. The child’s pose where you will spread your knees, hold your toes together, relax your belly between your thighs is suitable for healing your third-eye chakra since it is done while your forehead is on the floor.

The variation of the forward bending pigeon pose is also good for the agna chakra. To do this pose, move one knee forward and make sure you straighten your other leg at the back. Next, bend down your front knee and let your forehead touches the floor. If your forehead doesn’t reach on the floor, take time to rest and place a yoga block to support (if you have).

The third pose on the list is the Paschimottanasana, better known as the seated forward bend pose. Straighten your legs in front of you and fold gently. Again if your forehead is not too flexible, you can use some blocks to help you. If you want to work on your hips while healing your third-eye chakra, you can try the Baddha Konasa and Upavistha Konasana.

Standing poses like the eagle pose where you balance on one leg while you sink into a chair position with crossed arms and palms together as you put your thumb to your third-eye as you forward bend. This pose can clear the blockages of the third-eye chakra, so everything that it influences will function well.

How Kundalini Yoga & Meditation Can Help

Kundalini yoga focuses more on spirituality than other yoga types like Vinyasa, and Hatha, which puts a huge emphasis on the physical.

Meditating can help stimulate the sixth or the agna charka.

This yoga style involves a series of movements, meditation, mudra chanting, and breathing techniques to increase the body’s power, energy, self-awareness, and mindfulness.

When these qualities are lifted, it will allow the chakras to move inside the body freely.

Just like any yoga style, the Kundalini practice has a lot to offer. It can help reduce stress symptoms and anxiety, strengthen spiritual connections, and support clearing any chakra blockages happening in the body.

During meditation, the third-eye can be the point of focus. In open or closed eyes, move your eyeballs near the center of your brow.

You can also concentrate internally by repeating the “aum” mantra.

The practice of meditation often works on the breathwork. A preferred breathing technique to promote the agna chakra is Kumbhaka breathing. To do this, breathe in, hold, and breathe out in a one-to-one to two ratios. For example, breathe in for four seconds, hold for four seconds, and breathe out for eight seconds.

Opening the Third-Eye

Opening the third-eye enables you to see beyond the picture and understand the deeper meanings through things. It takes patience, time, and proper practice to achieve it. Either way, it’s best to start with the root chakra and work your way to the sixth.

Once you are prepared and ready, you can start opening your third-eye byways of eating more purple foods, master Kumbhaka breathing techniques, try Kundalini yoga, practicing meditation, applying essential oils, and working with professional healers.


Some yogis chose to embrace the spiritual vision of the agna chakra and find that it supports them to stay balanced, healthy, and contented in their life and their yogic lifestyle. Others, mainly those who are unfamiliar with the Hindu tradition, may find this practice less appropriate— well, that’s OK.

Because not every yogi will have the same idea on the third-eye concept, but you might consider practicing Kundalini yoga with your chakras in mind if you want to improve your physical practice.